Your County:  |   Your Business:  |   Your Destination:  |   Your Sports:
Lake County, FL Office of Elevate Lake

Agenda set for Second Annual Green Symposium

Release Date: July 14, 2010

HOWEY-IN-THE-HILLS — Organizers of the Second Annual Green Symposium scheduled for Thursday, July 29, and Friday, July 30, at Mission Inn Resort & Club have finalized a strong agenda of speakers. To register for the symposium, log on to The cost of the entire symposium is $100, or $25 per lunch and $50 for the banquet. For more information, call the Lake County Department of Growth Management at (352) 343-9647.

8 – 9 a.m. — Registration

9:15 – 10:15 a.m. — Natural Waste to Power
• Dwayne Dundore, Chief Technology Officer, Raptor Fabrication & Equipment
• Alan Oyler, Public Works Director, City of Orlando
• Dr. Jose Rafael Sifontes, CEO, Sigarca, Inc.

10:30 – 11:30 a.m. — Energy Conservation
• Paul Kalv, Electric Director and Chief Smart Grid System Architect, City of Leesburg Electric Department
• Daryl Smith
• Bob Phillips, Senior Energy Advisor, Progress Energy

11:45 a.m. – 1 p.m. — Lunch with keynote speaker Billy Hattaway, Managing Director for Transportation at Vanasse Hangen Brustlin

1:15 – 2:30 p.m. — Green Job Creation
• Cary Pierce, Business Development Coordinator, Lake County Economic Growth & Redevelopment Division
• Ken LaRoe, CEO, First Green Bank
• Christina Webb, Climate Change Director, Orange County Environmental Protection Division
• Lori Barnes, Sustainability Planner, Lake County Department of Growth Management

2:30 – 3:45 p.m. — Green Transportation
• Rep. Bryan Nelson, Florida House District 38
• Commissioner William Ferree, City of Eustis
• Harry Barley, Executive Director, METROPLAN ORLANDO • Pete Petree, Vice Presidents and General Manager, Florida Central Railroad
• Tawny Olore, FDOT Consultant, SunRail

4 – 6 p.m. — Tour of Lake County Water Authority’s Nutrient Reduction Facility (NuRF)

6:30 p.m. – 8 p.m. — Banquet with keynote speaker Daniel Parker, Assistant Division Director of Environmental Health, Florida Department of Health

7:30 – 8:30 a.m. — Breakfast

8:30 – 9:30 a.m. — Water Consumption Policy
• Commissioner Elaine Renick, Lake County District 5
• Mayor Melissa DeMarco, City of Mount Dora
• Kirby Green, Executive Director, St. Johns River Water Management District
• Chairman Keith Farner, Lake County Water Authority Board of Trustees

9:45 – 10:45 a.m. Waste Stream Reduction
• Bill Abolt, LEED AP, Shaw Environmental, Inc.
• Kathy Mihalek, Curtis Bay Energy
• Denise Gainer, Recycling Specialist, SP Recycling

11 a.m. – 12:15 p.m. Green Tourism
• Mayor Robert Wolfe, City of Tavares
• Bud Beucher, Vice President and General Manager, Mission Inn Resort & Club
• Cathy Hoechst, Executive Director, Mount Dora Chamber of Commerce

12:30 – 1:45 p.m. — Lunch with keynote speaker Doug Alderson, author and Florida Paddling Trails Coordinator for Florida's Office of Greenways and Trails.

Lake County media contact:
Communications Department
Public Information Coordinator
Office: 352-343-9603; Cell: 352-455-0445

Back to Recent News